Regional Governance changes for the North East

Regional governance changed today after the Government agreed to form a new Mayoral-led North of the Tyne Combined Authority, under which Northumberland, North Tyneside and Newcastle local authorities have joined forces.

The stand-alone organisation will operate separately to the North East Combined Authority, which will continue with the four local authorities south of the Tyne: Durham, Gateshead, South Tyneside and Sunderland.

As before, transport matters for the North East region will be overseen by all seven local authorities.

There will be no changes to the North East Local Enterprise Partnership (LEP) which will continue to advocate for the region as a whole and provide strong, collaborative leadership to grow the North East economy through an effective partnership with the public, private, education and third sectors.